8 Historical Romance Series to Read If You Like The Bridgertons

historical romance series to read if you love the bridgertons

If there is one genre of book that I love above the rest, it’s historical fiction. So, you can imagine my absolute delight when I found out they were making a regency romance into a Netflix show. So, surprise-surprise, I hadn’t read any Julia Quinn. That being said, I assigned myself the entire Bridgerton series as homework.

Now, if you plan on assigning the series as homework, too, I thought I’d add to your list! If you end up liking the Bridgerton series, here are some others you may like (or love) just as much!

All series listed below are ones I’ve read. Please keep in mind that I have read more than this, but I tried not to get carried away!

Happy reading!

the rokesby and the smythe-smith quartet julia quinn

For those of you deciding to jump into the world of the Bridgertons, there are some things you should know. One, the series consists of eight books. Two, it doesn’t have to end there. Continue your love of the Bridgertons with the prequel series, The Rokesbys, or get better aquatinted with The Smythe-Smith ladies (you’ll understand once you get into the Bridgerton series).

Favourite book in The Rokesby Series: Because of Miss Bridgerton
Favourite book in The Smythe-Smith Series: The Sum of All Kisses

the wallflowers, the hathaways, and the ravenels lisa kleypas

The reason I grouped these three series together is because they all happen in the same universe. Honestly, nothing makes me happier than seeing beloved characters making appearances in other books. Sure that happens within their own series, but to see them still in love with one another as we move through all the books makes my heart flutter. Some people are fans of the Marvel or DC universe, I am a fan of the Lisa Kleypas universe. It gets even better, the series isn’t done. There is another Ravenels book coming out July 2021!

Recommended reading order: Wallflowers, Hathaways, Ravenels. However, you can read it out of order.

Favourite book in The Wallflowers series: Devil in Winter and Scandal in Spring
Favourite book in The Hathaway series: Seduce Me at Sunrise
Favourite book in The Ravenals series: Hello Stranger and Chasing Cassandra

the boscastles jillian hunter

The Boscastle Series is hands-down my best used bookstore find. I went into the Book Bin, which no longer exists, one bright autumn day and came out with what would become one of my favourite romance series. If you like a series about a family rather than a group of friends, then pick up this series. Even better, if you are someone who flies through romance series, The Boscastles has 15 books. Oh, and the best part, there is usually some sort of mystery or other drama that needs to be dealt with. Often romance novels just have the relationship as the centre of the plot, which is fine, but can get boring if the characters aren’t super interesting.

Favourite book in the series: The Love Affair of an English Lord, The Sinful Nights of a Nobleman, and Wicked as Sin

I first came across this series while I was in high school. I just so happened to be at the bookstore with a friend when I saw To Bed a Beauty. Now, at this point, I had been reading historical romance novels for years. So, my friend (who hadn’t) thought it was hilarious. In her defence, the titles and cover art for romance novels asks to be laughed at 9/10 times. Anyways, I bought and read the second book first and fell in love. I immediately went back to buy the first and the rest is history!

I believe the series was originally meant to be a trilogy following the three Losing sisters, Arabella, Roslyn, and Lilian, who end up married to three handsome, titled, and rich men who also happen to be very good friends. However, much to my delight, the series continues with books about extended family, friends, and neighbours.

Favourite book in the series: To Romance a Charming Rogue

Note: I’ve recently reread the first book. It’s definitely a case of “this was amazing the first time I read it, but not so great the second time around.” Either way, the series still has a special place in my heart.

The last in this series comes out in 2021 and I can’t wait. I mean, yes I love historical romance, but I love it even more when there is a Duke involved. Now I have a whole series FULL of dukes! For those of you who loved Simon, Duke of Hastings, this one’s for you!

Favourite in the series: The Duchess Deal and The Wallflower Wager

Note: I have read other series by Tessa Dare that I also enjoyed. Please be sure to check these out: The Wanton Dairymaid Trilogy, The Stud Club Trilogy, and Spindle Cove.


Have you read any of these? Which is your favourite? If you haven’t, which do you plan on reading first?

samantha

RELATED POSTS

14 Comments

      1. Same!! And there are still not many that read them on Bookstagram either. But thanks to Bridgerton, I feel more and more are picking up the series and other historical romances. Sometimes people just need a push 😀

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Im glad to hear it! It’s my lifelong goal to recruit as many historical romance readers as possible. Please let me know what you end up reading and how you like it. Better yet, if you choose something else. I’m always looking for new books to read 😊

      Like

  1. Thank you so much for the book recommendations. I, like you, feel in love with historical romance in highschool. I still have the very first historical romance book I ever read “Come the Night” by Christina Skye. I still read it from time to time. I love how with historical romance you get to fall in love with the characters without all the “blushing bits” that today’s romances feature. Not that I don’t enjoy those as well.
    I also fell in love with paranormal romance as a teenager. If you are interested at all in the paranormal side you should check out Sherilyn Kenyon’s Dark Hunter series. I was gifted the second book in the series from a friend and I went back and bought the first one. Now I have over 20 in the series. “Styxx” is my favorite. Characters make cameos throughout the series and it incorporates mythological Gods.
    Sorry about the ramble. It was spurred by the similar experience with finding a good book series that inspired repeat reading.
    As a side note Bridgerton on netflix was wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I still have the very first historical romance book I ever read, too, Lord Ruin by Carolyn Jewel! This past year I found out it was a series and mad it my mission to read the other two. I just love the time period. That’s my issue with contemporary — I don’t wanna read about the world I already live in.

      Amber is a Sherilyn Kenyon fan! She made me read one or two of her books this year and I can’t for the life of me remember what they were called, but I do remember gods. So, it must have been that series!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s